FR EN

SPECTACLES

⚠️ ANNULÉ

BARTLEBY

HERMAN MELVILLE / KATJA HUNSINGER & RODOLPHE DANA

OUTDOORS

CCN de Rennes et de Bretagne

38 rue Saint-Melaine, Rennes

Duration 1h

Théâtre

Festival TNB

Création

TUE 17 11 7:00PM
WED 18 11 9:00PM
THU 19 11 7:00PM
FRI 20 11 9:00PM
SAT 21 11 5:00PM

OUTDOORS

CCN de Rennes et de Bretagne

38 rue Saint-Melaine, Rennes

Duration 1h

In partnership with CCN de Rennes et de Bretagne

‘I would prefer not to’ – the response of Bartleby to a request from his boss, a Wall Street lawyer. Previously a model employee, this non-descript clerk is transformed into a repetitive machine as he tirelessly restates his mantra, ceases to work, starts sleeping in his office, and imposes his inertia so completely that he is finally taken to prison. All of this to the astonishment of his employer who tries, despite his incomprehension, to save this man who has chosen radical withdrawal.

Written in 1853, Herman Melville’s short story brings with it a flood of questions. What does Bartleby’s stubborn refusal mean? Who and what is he resisting? What does his attitude say about the emptiness of the world that surrounds him? In this character perhaps one can see a call to slow down, a plea for degrowth. But as much as director Rodolphe Dana has mastered the political, metaphysical and psychological resonances of this work, he wants above all to evoke a fragment of the profound nothingness – the void – with which Melville’s story confronts us.

ABOUT

The American novelist, essayist and poet Herman Melville is best known for his work Moby Dick. Rodolphe Dana is an actor, a director and the co-founder, with Katja Hunsinger, of the collective Les Possédés. Since 2016 he has directed the Théâtre de Lorient, where he created Price (2017) and Le Misanthrope de Molière (2018).

OUTDOORS

CCN de Rennes et de Bretagne

38 rue Saint-Melaine, Rennes

Duration 1h

FR EN

SPECTACLES

⚠️ ANNULÉ

BARTLEBY

HERMAN MELVILLE / KATJA HUNSINGER & RODOLPHE DANA

Théâtre

Festival TNB

Création

MAR 17 11 19h00
MER 18 11 21h00
JEU 19 11 19h00
VEN 20 11 21h00
SAM 21 11 17h00

Hors les murs

CCN de Rennes et de Bretagne

38 rue Saint-Melaine, Rennes

Durée 1h

 

Tarif 12€

En partenariat avec le CCN de Rennes et de Bretagne

« I would prefer not to » (je préfèrerais ne pas) : c’est la réponse qu’oppose Bartleby à une demande de son patron, un juriste de Wall Street. L’employé modèle, le copiste sans histoire, se transforme dès lors en une mécanique répétitive qui réitère inlassablement la formule, cesse de travailler, dort dans son bureau, impose tant et si bien son inertie qu’il est finalement emmené en prison. Stupeur de son patron qui tente, malgré son incompréhension, de sauver cet homme qui a fait le choix d’un retrait radical.

Écrite en 1853, la nouvelle d’Herman Melville ouvre la porte à un flux de questionnements. Que veut dire ce refus obstiné ? À qui, à quoi résiste Bartleby ? Que raconte sa posture de la vacuité du monde qui l’entoure ? Il est possible de voir dans cette figure une apologie de la décélération, un plaidoyer pour la décroissance. Si Rodolphe Dana, directeur du Théâtre de Lorient qui met en scène, avec Katja Hunsinger, la pièce et l’interprète, en maîtrise les résonnances politiques, métaphysiques ou psychologiques, il veut surtout convoquer, au plateau, cette part de néant à laquelle la pièce nous confronte.

À PROPOS

Romancier, essayiste et poète américain, Herman Melville est notamment célèbre pour son œuvre Moby Dick. Rodolphe Dana est comédien, metteur en scène et cofondateur du collectif Les Possédés avec Katja Hunsinger. Il dirige le Théâtre de Lorient depuis 2016 et y crée Price (2017) et Le Misanthrope de Molière (2018).

Hors les murs

CCN de Rennes et de Bretagne

38 rue Saint-Melaine, Rennes

Durée 1h

 

Tarif 12€

D’après Bartleby d’
HERMAN MELVILLE (Éditions Allia)
Traduction
JEAN-YVES LACROIX
Adaptation
RODOLPHE DANA
Création collective dirigée par
KATJA HUNSINGER
RODOLPHE DANA
Scénographie
RODOLPHE DANA
Avec la collaboration artistique de
KARINE LITCHMAN
Lumière
VALÉRIE SIGWARD
Son
JEFFERSON LEMBEYE
Costumes
CHARLOTTE GILLARD

 

Avec
RODOLPHE DANA
ADRIEN GUIRAUD

 

Production : Théâtre de Lorient, Centre dramatique national. Coproduction : Scène Nationale d’Albi ; Théâtre du Champ-au-Roy, Scène de territoire, Guingamp.