Festival TNB 2020
FR EN

Festival TNB 2020

EDITORIAL

Because it has been the great sacrifice to COVID-19 (through the closing of schools, colleges and universities), because it will have to pay tomorrow for the economic consequences of the quarantine and the situation we’re living through today, because it will inherit a planet that has been scarred on an ecological level, a society in upheaval, and the vital struggle against all forms of discrimination, ‘Generation Z’, which the media have, a little hastily, named ‘Generation COVID’, cannot be reduced to a simple denominator.


This ultra-connected age group has crossed the world with the #metoo and Black Lives Matter movements and the fight against climate crisis. It is mobilising to push boundaries.


After all that we’ve experienced, individually and collectively, over recent months, we wanted to give youth a special place during this festival. 


At TNB Festival, children, teenagers and young adults will be invited to take to the stage and to speak out. Workshops, masterclasses, radio broadcasts – we want to read and listen to their stories. How have they experienced this crisis? How do they see the future? What are the desires that drive them? We want them to be seen and heard in all their vitality. So let’s come together for a volley of ‘youth’ events, conceived by the team at TNB with the help of Patrick Boucheron, Aurélie Charon, Caroline Gilet, Gala Vanson, Robin Robles, Joëlle Gayot, and Valérie Mréjen.


Today, every generation is going through the same planetary event, one that marks a sharp break from our former lives. From the centre of this transformation, we look for oxygen, for hope, for a chance to launch ourselves once again towards the future. To escape the everyday, to liberate ourselves from boxes, to free ourselves from norms, to dream of alternatives that would make our lives more beautiful, to run from preconceived ideas, to return the imagination to prominence, to nurse our wounds, to take care: these concerns, expressed with strength, laughter, gravity and inventiveness, run throughout TNB Festival.   


But as we live together through this stressful period overshadowed by COVID-19, our artists affirm more than ever that they will concede nothing to a reality which separates and isolates us.  


Just as every year, TNB Festival is a creative and artistic distillate, a reflection of our season and an extension of it, shared with numerous partners in Rennes and the greater metropolis. It’s also a time of encounters, exchanges and conviviality, taking us out of our standard rhythm to discover new creations and work by unique artists of all disciplines. The performances to which we invite you are all marked, in one way or another, by an overriding need for escape, by an energy that tears us from the ground and from ourselves and connects us to invisible or distant worlds.  


Your presence is vital to the survival of our venues but also our companies, our workers, and our artists, who despite difficult and even dangerous working conditions have mobilised themselves so that their professions and the performing arts can, in these uncertain times, keep going, or even continue to exist.


Thank you and welcome.

— Arthur Nauzyciel

Édito FESTIVAL TNB
FR EN

Édito FESTIVAL TNB

NOV 2020

Parce qu’elle a été la grande sacrifiée de la COVID-19 (fermeture des écoles, des collèges, des lycées, des universités), parce que demain, elle aura à payer les conséquences économiques du confinement et de la période que nous traversons, parce qu’elle hérite d’une planète meurtrie sur le plan écologique, d’une société bouleversée, de luttes nécessaires contre toutes formes de discriminations, la génération « Z », que les médias ont un peu hâtivement nommée génération « COVID », ne peut se réduire à ce seul dénominateur.


Cette tranche d’âge ultra connectée est traversée à l’échelle mondiale par les mouvements #metoo, black lives matter, et le combat écologique. Elle se mobilise et fait bouger les lignes. Dans le prolongement de ce que nous avons vécu, individuellement et collectivement, au cours de ces derniers mois, nous avons souhaité accorder une place toute particulière à la jeunesse pendant ce festival. Certain·e·s artistes ont décidé de s’adresser à elle dans leurs spectacles.


Et à l’occasion du Festival TNB, des enfants, des adolescent∙e∙s et de jeunes adultes seront invité·e·s à se saisir des plateaux et à prendre la parole. Ateliers, masterclass, émissions de radio : nous voulons que s’écoutent et se lisent leurs récits. Comment cette crise a-t-elle été traversée ? Comment envisager le futur ? Quels désirs les animent ? Nous voulons que s’écoute leur vitalité. Rendez-vous donc pour une salve d’événements « jeunesse » pensés par l’équipe du TNB, avec le concours de Patrick Boucheron, Aurélie Charon, Caroline Gillet, Gala Vanson, Robin Robles, Joëlle Gayot et Valérie Mréjen.


Aujourd’hui, c’est toutes générations confondues que nous traversons cet événement planétaire qui marque une rupture avec nos vies d’avant.


Au cœur de cette mutation, nous cherchons l’oxygène, l’espoir, la possibilité de se projeter de nouveau dans l’avenir. S’évader du quotidien, échapper aux assignations, s’affranchir des normes, rêver à des alternatives qui sauraient rendre nos vies plus belles, fuir les idées reçues, replacer l’imaginaire aux avant-postes, panser les plaies, prendre soin : ces préoccupations, déclinées avec force, rire, gravité, inventivité, traversent le Festival TNB. Alors que nous vivons ensemble une période anxiogène marquée par la COVID-19, les artistes affirment plus que jamais leur désir de ne rien concéder à un réel qui isole et nous sépare.


Comme chaque année, le festival est un précipité créatif et artistique, reflet de notre saison, et son extension partagée avec de nombreux partenaires de Rennes et de sa métropole. C’est aussi un temps de rencontres, d’échanges et de convivialité qui nous sort du rythme de la saison pour découvrir ensemble des créations inédites et le travail d’artistes singulier·e·s, dans toutes les disciplines. Les propositions auxquelles nous vous convions sont marquées, d’une manière ou d’une autre, par un besoin impérieux d’évasion, par une énergie qui nous arrache au sol et à nous-mêmes, nous relie à des mondes invisibles ou lointains.


Votre présence est vitale à la survie de nos lieux mais aussi des compagnies, intermittent·e·s, artistes, qui malgré des conditions de travail difficiles et hasardeuses, se mobilisent pour que leurs métiers et que le spectacle vivant, en ces temps incertains, se poursuive ou continue d’exister.


Merci et bienvenue.

– Arthur Nauzyciel