FR EN

VESSEL

Damien Jalet / Kohei Nawa

En tournée

Recréation

Duration 1h

Created at Villa Kujoyama in Kyoto (Japan) in 2015
European tour
On Tour 18/19 and 19/20 Seasons

The idea for Vessel by Damien Jalet, in collaboration with the Japanese plastic artist Kohei Nawa, germinated in 2015 during a shared residence at the Villa Kujoyama in Kyoto. At the intersection between sculpture and choreography, the two art forms meet and become indivisible. Taking the contradictions of the human body as their starting point, the artists, together with a group of seven dancers, create a fascinating work embracing regeneration and deterioration, solid and liquid, anatomy and mythology. In addition, the Japanese composer Marihiko Hara serves the performance with a captivating score.

Damien Jalet travels the world, imbuing his choreography with exotic imagery, originating in the myths, the religions and the rituals of each country he visits. He succeeds in combining them with the elemental conflict between the body and the spirit of dance. In his sculptures and installations Kohei Nawa explores different materials and techniques, communicating an organic vision of the world while simultaneously combining image and materiality with impressive success.

The artistic duo instills the scenography with an intriguing breadth of physical properties, ranging from gases, to liquids and solids, in an attempt to create a dynamic fusion between the dance stage and the bodies of the dancers. The distinctive “headless” posture hides the faces of the performers, imposing anonymity in a dissimulation of genre and identity, while insinuating all at once the existence of a non-human entity. The vision of the world rendered by such sculptural dance transcends the artistic disciplines.

Duration 1h

Choreographer
DAMIEN JALET
Scenography
KOHEI NAWA
Musical composition
MARIHIKO HARA
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO

 

With
JUN MORII
MIRAI MORIYAMA
AIMILIOS ARAPOGLOU
NOBUYOSHI ASAI
RURI MITOH
MAYUMU MINAGAWA
NAOKO TOZAWA

 

Show created at the Villa Kujoyama, Kyoto (Japan) in 2015.
Production : Théâtre National de Bretagne; SANDWICH Inc.

Coproduction : Yohohama Arts Foundation. With the support of the Caisse des Dépôts and of the Performing Arts Japan Programme for Europe (Japan Foundation).

FR EN

VESSEL

DAMIEN JALET / KOHEI NAWA

Prod TNB / Danse

Recréation

Durée 1h

 

CONTACT
Emmanuelle de Varax
e.devarax[at]t-n-b.fr

BELGIQUE / JAPON

Spectacle créé à la Villa Kujoyama à Kyoto (Japon) en 2015
Recréation au TNB en 2019
En tournée internationale saison 2019/2020

Né durant une résidence commune à la Villa Kujoyama à Kyoto en 2015, Vessel est une œuvre imaginée par le chorégraphe Damien Jalet en collaboration avec le plasticien japonais Kohei Nawa. À la croisée de la sculpture et de la chorégraphie, les deux arts fusionnent et deviennent indissociables. Prenant comme point de départ les contradictions du corps, entre régénération et détérioration, entre solide et liquide, entre anatomie et mythologie, les deux concepteurs créent, avec un groupe de 7 danseurs, une pièce fascinante sur une composition originale de Marihiko Hara.

Damien Jalet a parcouru le monde, infusé sa danse avec des images des mythes, des religions et des rituels de chaque pays qu'il visite et reflète le conflit entre le corps et l'esprit de la danse. Kohei Nawa explore les matériaux et les techniques à travers ses sculptures et ses installations qui communiquent une vision du monde organique tout en combinant avec succès l'image et la matérialité.

Intégrant dans la conception de la scénographie une large gamme de propriétés physiques qui s'étendent aux gaz, aux liquides et aux solides, ils tentent de créer une fusion dynamique entre le plateau et les corps des danseurs. Les poses distinctives « sans tête » cachent les visages, conférant l'anonymat en dissimulant le genre et l'identité et en insinuant l'existence d'une entité non humaine. La vue du monde peinte par cette danse sculpturale transcende les disciplines artistiques.

Durée 1h

 

CONTACT
Emmanuelle de Varax
e.devarax[at]t-n-b.fr

Chorégraphie
DAMIEN JALET
Scénographie
KOHEI NAWA
Composition musicale
MARIHIKO HARA
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO

Création lumière

YUKIKO YOSHIMOTO

Régie général
SO OZAKI

Régie son
MARIE CHARLES 

Construction

REO NUKUMIZU

TETSUHIKO YOSHIDA
MARIE BONNIER

Assistant lumière
KAZUYA YOSHIDA 

 

Avec

AIMILIOS ARAPOGLOU
NOBUYOSHI ASAI
MAYUMU MINAKAWA
RURI MITOH
JUN MORII
MIRAI MORIYAMA
NAOKO TOZAWA

 

Production : SANDWICH Inc. ; Théâtre National de Bretagne.

Coproduction : Yokohama Arts Foundation, Arario Gallery

Avec le soutien de la Caisse des Dépôts et du Performing Arts Japan Programme for Europe.
Spectacle créé à la Villa Kujoyama à Kyoto (Japon) en 2015.